TCNJ Faculty Senate Minutes May 6, 2024, 9-11 am Business Lounge ZOOM simulcast

In attendance: Ahlawat, Baker, Bwire, Capece, Cho, Curtis, Dahling, Davis, Hagedorn, Harkins, Holleran, Hunter, Hutton, Kim, Li, Lopes-Murphy, Jefferson, Kim, Leader, McGreevey, Monaco, Nguyen, O'Connor, Ortiz-Vilarelle, Patterson, Riccardi, Salgian, Samanta, Sewell, Steele, Tallman, Warner-Ault, Webber, Wei, Williams, Wondmagegn, Wund, Zrada,

Excused: Fisher

Absent: Brown-Glaude, Huang, Joshi, Lau, Mraz, Neves, O'Grady, Sen

Guests: McCotter (Interim Provost), Capece (Physics), Pulimood (CompSci), Patterson (Public Health), Kertengian (WLC), Wright (WLC), Leca (WLC), Tarter (English), Monaco (SELL), Holleran (Criminology), McMann (English). ZOOM GUESTS: Adair, Cobet, Gazley, Gevertz, Hee Choi, Hume, Li, Preti, Riccardi, Tosaka

Meeting called to order at 9:00am

- 1) Presentation of the Mildred Dahne Endowment Award
 - Awardee Department of Kinesiology and Health Sciences presented by Melissa Zrada
 - Last Year's Awardee 1- English department. Mildred Dahne Award funds used for growing the department through: the Creative Writing minor for all majors across campus, Young Writer's workshop, and Grant Writing
 - Last Year's Awardee 2- WLC department. Mildred Dahne Award funds used for growing the department through: International Week, two guest speakers, an alumni panel, an Asian cultural festival, a 4 part speaker series, and an online Spanish ESL 3 year accelerated program <u>WLC</u>
- 2) Senate Roll Call (see above)
 - SCHOOL OF THE ARTS & COMMUNICATION Brandi Diggs
 - SCHOOL OF BUSINESS
 Ziyue Huang, Tae-Nyun Kim
 - SCHOOL OF EDUCATION
 David Bwire, Lauren Foxworth
 - SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING
 Anthony Lau
 - SCHOOL OF HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES

Matthew Bender, Christopher Fisher, Piper Kendrix Williams, June Kim, Shaun Wiley, Simona Wright (1-year replacement for Jason Dahling)

- LIBRARY
 - John Oliver
- NURSING AND HEALTH SCIENCES
 Jill Bush, Alexia Mraz
- SCHOOL OF SCIENCE
 - Joseph Baker, Cathy Liebars, Andrea Salgian, Abby O'Connor
- Board Reps- TBD election soon

- 3) Approval of April 17 and April 3 meeting minutes
- 4) Enrollment Presentation Lisa Angeloni VP enrollment management
 - Budget set on enrollment goal entering 2024: 1600 1st year (actual: 1112); 325 transfers (25 more than last year), and 200 Pathway
 - Budgeting model includes flat 1st year number for 5 years, but steady increase in transfers
 - Application pool doing well with steady increase yearly
- 5) Senate Officer Election
 - > President Abby O'Connor
 - > Vice President Sylvia Twersky
 - > Parliamentarian Melissa Zrada
 - ➤ Members at Large election (select up to 5) due May 9 @ 5 pm, electronic ballot via QR code: Baker, Bwire, Bush, Davis, Hagedorn, Hunter, O'Grady
- 6) Appointments to Governance Committees
 - Steering ONE 3-YEAR TERM Jana Gevertz
 - Committee on Strategic Planning and Priorities (CSPP) ONE 3-YEAR TERM

Jody Eberly

 Committee on Inclusive Excellence (CIE) - TWO 3-YEAR TERMS, ONE 1-YEAR TERM

Yolanda Nelson, Solange Lopes-Murphy, Zakiya Adair# (1-year term)

- Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) TWO 3-YEAR TERMS Matt Bender, Shengbin Wang
- > Committee on Faculty Affairs (CFA) THREE 3-YEAR TERMS
- > Mekala Audain, Abhishek Tripathi, Katie Hooven
- Committee on Student and Campus Community (CSCC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM
- Jonathan Davis
- Athletics Advisory Council (AAC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM Kate Foster
- > Budget and Finance Planning Council (BFPC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM Terrence Bennett
- > College Core Council (CCC) THREE 3-YEAR TERMS
 Jean Graham, Andrea Salgian, Kevin Michels
- Community Engaged Learning Council (CELC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM Sarah Monaco
- Cultural and Intellectual Community Council (CICC) TWO 3-YEAR TERMS David Murray, Maggie Leigey
- Environmental Sustainability Council ONE 3-YEAR TERM Miriam Shakow
- ➤ Global Engagement Council (GEC) TWO 3-YEAR TERMS, ONE 2-YEAR TERM

Holly Didi-Ogren, MinSoo Kim-Bossard, Liselot van der Heijden* (2-year term)

- Graduate Studies Council (GSC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM Tim Clydesdale
- Honors and Scholars Council (HSC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM Tami Jakubowski
- Mentored Research and Internships Council (MRIC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM, ONE 2-YEAR TERM

Michael Bloodgood, AJ Richards[#] (2-year term)

- Sabbaticals Council ONE 3-YEAR TERM (MATH/COMP SCI), ONE 3-YEAR TERM (EDUCATION), ONE 3-YEAR TERM (ENGINEERING)
 Mark Woodford, Manish Paliwal, Tom Hagedorn
- ➤ Teaching and Learning Council (TLC) ONE 3-YEAR TERM Emily Meixner
- Open Educational Resources Council (OER) ONE 3-YEAR TERM Nuriddin Tojiboyev

ALL IN FAVOR OF APPROVING ALL RECOMMENDATIONS

- 7) Update from Core/Workload working group
 - Reports given to Dr. Bernstein on May 3
 - Committed to working on recommendations through our governance system
 - Governance committees should be available to meet (virtually) in May/June
 - Suggested adjustments to the Core & FYE will need to be completed for a Fall 25 implementation
 - o Removal of FYW 102 (approved), need plan for writing training for our students
 - Reduction of graduation requirements from 32 to 30 units (approved), need to consider adjustments to baccalaureate degree requirements per department and the Core
 - Changes to the second language requirement
 - Other items already in progress reassigned time (20% reduction by FY26), VSP
 - Communication for us to come soon
- 8) Committee reports (Board, Steering, CAP, CFA, CSPP, CSCC, AFT)
 - Reports

Upcoming co-sponsored events with Senate:

 May 15: 24th Annual Instructional Design Conference, 9 AM to 12:30 PM in the Library Auditorium. Please register in advance. Breakfast begins at 8:30 am.

Meeting adjourned at 11 am