## **Faculty Senate Minutes**

Wednesday, November 20, 2024, 12:00pm Science Complex Physics 101 (P101)

Senators Present: Zakiya Adair, Joe Baker, Matthew Bender, Winnifred Brown-Glaude, Jill Bush, David Bwire, Jonathan Davis, Brandi Diggs, Lauren Foxworth, Thomas Hagedorn, Ziyue Huang, Rebecca Hunter, Rebeca Jefferson, Arti Joshi, June Kim, Tae-Nyun Kim, George Leader, Cathy Liebars, Robert McGreevey, Alexis Mraz\*, Joao Neves, Tuan Nguyen, Abby O'Connor, Trevor O'Grady, John Oliver, Andrea Salgian, Subarna Samanta\*, Stephanie Sen, Felicia Steele, Tamara Tallman\*, Abishek Tripathi, Sylvia Twersky, Ann Warner-Ault, Kathleen Webber, Shaun Wiley, Piper Kendrix-Williams, Simona Wright, Matthew Wund, Melissa Zrada

\* By Zoom

Senators Excused: Anthony Lau, Wudyalew Wondmagegn

Visitors (in person & Zoom): Lisa Ortiz-Vilarelle, Marla Jaksch, Tracy Kress, Jean Graham, Emily Meixner, Kit Murphy, Caitie, Cindy Curtis, Jessica Barnack-Tavlaris, Nick Battista, David Blake, Louis Tucci, Liselot van der Heijden, Anita Allyn, Jana Gevertz, Daniel Bowen, Marimar Huguet Jerez, Isabel Kentengian, Chris Ault, Belinda Haikes

- I. Sign In
- II. Approval of November 6 Meeting Minutes
  - A. Minutes approved with no changes
- III. Upcoming Dates of Interest
  - A. Last Faculty Senate meeting: Monday, December 9, 9:00am
  - B. First Faculty Senate meeting of the Spring semester: Wednesday, January 29
  - C. Colloquium for the Recognition of Faculty Research and Creative Activity: Friday, November 22
  - D. All-Faculty Winter Writing Retreat: January 6-8
  - E. CETL Summit "Let's Talk Pedagogy"
    - 1. Survey request from Judi Cook; link available on meeting slides
- IV. CORE Discussion
  - A. Introduction by Joe Baker and Sylvia Twersky
  - B. Senators and visitors break out into groups to discuss
- V. Senate Subcommittee Meetings
- VI. Senate Subcommittee Updates
  - A. First Year Experience, Stephanie Sen
  - B. Awards, Mel Zrada
  - C. Senate Constitution, Abby O'Connor
- VII. Campus Updates