## **Faculty Senate Minutes**

Wednesday, September 18, 2024, 12:00pm Science Complex Physics 101 (P101)

Senators Present: Zakiya Adair, Joe Baker, Matthew Bender, Winnifred Brown-Glaude, Jill Bush, David Bwire, Jonathan Davis, Brandi Diggs, Lauren Foxworth, Thomas Hagedorn, Ziyue Huang, Rebecca Hunter, Rebeca Jefferson, Arti Joshi, Piper Kendrix-Williams, June Kim, Tae-Nyun Kim, Anthony Lau\*, George Leader, Cathy Liebars, Robert McGreevey, Alexis Mraz, Joao Neves, Tuan Nguyen, Abby O'Connor, Trevor O'Grady, John Oliver, Andrea Salgian, Subarna Samanta\*, Stephanie Sen, Abishek Tripathi, Sylvia Twersky, Ann Warner-Ault, Kathleen Webber, Shaun Wiley, Wudyalew Wondmagegn, Simona Wright, Matthew Wund, Melissa Zrada

\* By Zoom

Senators Excused: Felicia Steele, Tamara Tallman

Visitors (in person & Zoom): Erin Ackerman, Marimar Huguet Jerez, Consuelo Preti, Lisa LaJevic, David Puskar, Tina Tormey, Gem Perkins, Belinda Haikes, Jessica Madrigal, Nick McBride, John DeGood, Elizabeth Borland, Deb Schiff, Terrence Bennett, Chanelle Lester, Mark Woodford, Catie Rosemurgy, Sarah Chartock, Nicholas Battista, Janice Parker, Holly Didi-Ogren, Gary Dickinson, Marcia O'Connell, Anita Allyn, Ambrose Adegbege, Lynn Gazley, Brian Girard, Liselot van der Heijden, Lincoln Konkle, Yifeng Hu, Linghui Tang, Donald Lovett, Cecilia Liu, Tracy Kress, Sandy Gibson, Lisa Cardello, Ashlei Petion, Margaret Martinetti, Louis Tucci, Sarah Monaco, Michelle Bunagan

- I. Approval of September 4 Meeting Minutes
  - A. Minutes approved with no changes
- II. Upcoming Events of Faculty Interest
  - A. Presidential Inauguration September 27
  - B. Foster Distinguished Visitor October 15
  - C. Middle States Team Visit October 20-23
  - D. Faculty Share November 14, Education 212
    - 1. Thematic talks tied to Immigration
  - E. Faculty Senate Colloquium November 22, Library Auditorium
    - 1. Joe Baker presenting
- III. Approval of Faculty for Vacancies in and outside of Governance
  - A. Committee on Faculty Affairs (CFA)
    - 1. Fall semester replacement: Eric Laprade
    - 2. 1 one-year replacement: Nina Peel
  - B. Committee on Academic Programs (CAP)
    - 1. 1 one-year replacement: Stephanie Sen
  - C. Committee on Inclusive Excellence (CIE)
    - 1. 1 one-year replacement: Nick McBride
    - 2. 1 one-year replacement: Carolina Borges
  - D. Sabbaticals Council
    - 1. 1 three-year term: James Beyers
  - E. Mentored Research & Internship Council (MRIC)
    - 1. 1 two-year replacement: Cadence Willse

- F. Campus Property Use Committee (CPUC)
  - 1. 1 three-year term: Tuan Nguyen
- G. Parking Citation Appeal Board
  - 1. 1 three-year term: Dave Reimer
- H. Arti Joshi motioned to approve, seconded by many, all in favor
- IV. Announcement of Faculty/Librarian Recognition Awards and FYS Awards nominations due October 17th
- V. Senate Subcommittee Groups and Review of Charges
  - A. CORE subcommittee seeking a member from the School of Business
  - B. Awards subcommittee seeking a member from the School of Education
    - 1. Arti Joshi volunteered
  - C. List of representatives and charges shared; folder available to organize notes and other documents
  - D. Review of charges for each subcommittee
- VI. Academic Reorganization Presentation by Interim Provost Suzanne McCotter

Meeting adjourned.